Heart Matters

Image

11954241201556281584tomas_arad_heart_svg_hi

As I started my day, everything and everyone frustrated me. It was going to be one of those days.

That morning I prayed and asked the Lord what time should I post my blog? He said 10 am. That was an hour later than I normally post. I knew one hour could make a big difference in readers. Despite what I thought, I obeyed the Lord.

Events throughout the day kept me in a constant state of frustration. I continued to pray and ask for direction and obeyed the Lord. Later I was able to talk to my husband who was so busy at work he did not answer my phone calls or texts; which led to more frustration! We had a short conversation and I gave him attitude which of course came out of what I was feeling. What a day! Meanwhile, no one was reading my blog and I knew it was because of posting an hour later than normal. But who am I to question the Lord.

“And let us not grow weary of doing good for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.”        Gal. 6:9

Finally, late in the day, I sat down to pray and to ask for forgiveness, when I heard the Lord speak.

“Did you obey me today?”

I thought for a moment, “Yes Lord”.

“Did you do anything wrong?”

Again I thought for a moment. “Well, I gave my husband attitude, but other than that no.”

The Lord said, “Then why do you come to me with a repented heart?”

I was taken aback! Did I come to him with a repented heart? Yes, I guess I did. Wow, the Lord saw my heart. I heard him gently say, “Anyone would of been frustrated with the day you had.” That made me feel better. I had the feeling our conversation was  now over.

I called my husband and said sorry for my attitude. I knew everything was going to be alright. And you know what, it was. It is not a sin to be frustrated and to express those feelings. It sure felt good to know the Lord sees my heart even when I don’t.

“…the Lord does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.” 1 Sam. 16:7b

K.

wife, author, pastor

http://www.bethelightministries.net

One response »

Leave a Reply

