Marriage, God’s Way – Part 2

Image

????????????????????????????????????????????????

I would like to start off with my testimony. Married for many years to my husband Art, we grew close to one another. Even so, it was during a hard time in my life that I was drawn closer to God. I then accepted Him as my Lord and Savior. Art supported my decision but hadn’t made that choice himself.

It was heartbreaking for me, because I would go to church by myself. While my husband stood home or went out to play Racquetball with friends. I would sit in church next to my sister and her husband, yet I was lonely at the same time. Despite how I felt, God was changing me from the inside and I was learning much about my new faith.

I wanted so desperately for my husband to share with me this wonderful gift I now had. I would cry out to the Lord in private for him to save my husband. It would be four months later when my prayer was answered. Art had accepted Jesus as his Lord and Savior too.

So I can relate to those spouses who are married to unbelievers, because I have experienced it myself. I know it’s difficult, but don’t give up; God hasn’t.

Let’s jump right into what God says about this topic. In 1 Cor. 7:12-16, Paul addresses these issues that the church in Corinth has asked about.

“To the rest I say this (I, not the Lord): If any brother has a wife who is not a believer and she is willing to live with him, he must not divorce her. And if a woman has a husband who is not a believer and he is willing to live with her, she must not divorce him. For the unbelieving husband has been sanctified through his wife, and the unbelieving wife has been sanctified through her believing husband. Otherwise your children would be unclean, but as it is, they are holy. But if the unbeliever leaves, let it be so. The brother or the sister is not bound in such circumstances; God has called us to live in peace. How do you know wife, whether you will save your husband? Or, how do you know, husband, whether you will save your wife?”

Now before I get into this, do not read what is not truly there.

You may have noticed Paul mentioned divorce. The reason is, when two people have different beliefs it is hard for them to live together. One may have faith in God, while the other has faith in the world system, such as money, people, or themselves. The Bible says,

“No one can serve two masters. Either you will hate the one and love the other, or you will be devoted to one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money.” Mt. 6:25

Many times you will find one spouse devoted to God and the other spouse devoted to something else. therefore, it will be a great strain on their marriage. You may be wondering what can I do then? Well for the believing wife, the Bible says,

“Wives, in the same way submit yourselves to your own husbands so that, if any of them do not believe the word, they may be won over without words by the behavior of their wives, when they see the purity and reverence of your lives.”  1 Peter 3:1-2

And for the believing husband the Bible says this,

“Husbands, in the same way be considerate as you live with your wives, and treat them with respect as the weaker partner and as heirs with you of the gracious gift of life so that nothing will hinder your prayers.” 1 Peter 3:7

In closing, Art and I have done great things for the kingdom of God. I don’t say that boastfully but rather gratefully. We have done great things because of Jesus in our marriage. He is the head of our home, then Art, then me. It’s true I may be more visible in public and on social media. But because we follow and obey God’s way of living a married life, we are so blessed and you can be too!

Untill next week!

K.

with pen in hand

Author of FADE and Heaven is Near. www.bethelightministries.net

 

5 responses »

  1. What’s wrong with not always sharing common interests? I love the fact Manuel & I have different things we are passionate about & we do share common interests. For example, I’m not a sports fan, but I married a man who is a Oakland Raiders, Atlanta Braves, & LA Lakers fan. Well, at first it was very hard to sit through a game, but not once did I get mad because whenever I wanted to watch my cooking shows, Manuel will sit with me. Well, 14 1/2 years of marriage, we support each other along with our differences & that doesn’t make it wrong for us because it’s our differences that makes us love each other even more. We are truly blessed because we have each other & we are so the opposite & yet we go together like peas & carrots.

    Like

  2. Hi Shanon, there is nothing wrong with sharing or not sharing common interests. A marriage would be pretty boring if there were not differences between the couple. With that said, that’s not what I am talking about here or what the Bible is talking about here. The issue is spiritual not natural.

    Like

  3. Well then I’m confused because you stated you were sad when Art didn’t share your beliefs with God & once he did you were excited. That’s what I gathered from your blog!

    Like

  4. Shanon, common interests are “natural”, but beliefs are spiritual. They are not the same thing. Again I am talking about our beliefs (spiritual things). Thanks for your posts and questions.

    Like

  5. Ok that is different, but I know a few couples who have different beliefs and yet they are still married. Not all couples have to share the same beliefs, but that’s my opinion!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

