Marriage, God’s Way

Image

 

????????????????????????????????????????????????

Marriage was God’s idea. Sex was God’s idea. God is good don’t you think! What some people don’t realize is sex was created for married couples. However, sex outside the context of marriage is a sin, which is called fornication.

“Nevertheless to avoid fornication, let every man have his own wife, and let every woman have her own husband.”  1 Cor. 7:2 King James Version

Our Heavenly Father has a lot to say about marriage. For the followers of Christ it would be wise if we knew what a godly marriage looked like. After all, the world is trying to redefine marriage, though they never created it in the first place. It’s as if they think they can do a better job than God! The creation is never above nor better than the creator.

So let’s lay it all out on the table. The good, the bad, and the ugly. It may take a few posts, but stay with me for the next few weeks. I encourage your comments and shares. But for now let’s get started.

SunRise

“Then the Lord God formed a man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living being.” Genesis 2:7 NIV

In the beginning, God created man first and at the same time setting the divine order of the family unit. The man is to be the head of the family. So husbands take your positions, in a loving way of course. Now there are some men who, shall we say, are shy about taking their positions as head of house. Therefore the wives step up and take the role themselves. Some women are able and quite willing to be head of the family. But ladies, that is not your place. The Bible says,

“Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands as you do to the Lord. For the husband is head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior.” Ephesians 5:22-23 NIV

I remember one time as I was learning my place as a wife, the Lord taught me a good lesson. I was having a hard time giving up control over our area of finances. Don’t get me wrong, my husband was very capable of making decisions about our money and bills. However, I wanted to oversee all of that too.

I was complaining to the Lord about it one day. That it was very hard for me to let go and trust my husband completely with those decisions. Jesus spoke to me and said, “Then trust Me to help your husband with those decisions.” Which I did. I realized the Lord was helping my husband as much as he was helping me. He is no respecter of persons. After that it was so much easier to let go and let my husband take over.

I know some of you women are genius with finances and if you and your husband agree for you to be in charge of the money, that’s ok. But for us it was best for Art to handle it all. I want to close by taking you back to the beginning; to Adam and Eve. I want you to notice where Adam was in this verse when Eve took the forbidden fruit.

“When the woman saw that the fruit of the tree was good for food and pleasing to the eye, and also desirable for gaining wisdom, she took some and ate it. She also gave some to her husband, who was with her, and he ate it.” Genesis 3:6

Yes, you read that right, Adam was with her. He just stood by and let the serpent deceive his wife and disobey God. He stood by in silence not taking his position of authority. Therefore man fell and was separated from God because of their sin. And now we needed a Savior. We needed Jesus Christ to set things right again.

So this week I ask that you observe your places in the family; Wives and husbands. Does your positions need adjusting? If so do it in love and in baby steps. Wives step back a little so the husbands can step up.

Until next week,

K.

With pen in hand

Author of FADE and Heaven is Near. www.bethelightministries.net

 

 

3 responses »

  1. I agree with you when it comes to roles for men & woman. For Manuel & I it’s always been me paying the bills, it just works for us. I have a friend from high school, who is married & they both work, but have separate bank accounts. Her pay goes in her account & her husbands pay goes in his account. When it comes time to pay the bills, they spilt it 50/50! Now, some people may find this odd (I did at first), but as I gotten older I realize this works for them & who am I to judge, right! Now going back to Manuel & I, I’m the cook in the house & Manuel, along with Brandon & Hailey, cleans up the kitchen after dinner. A few of his friends have mentioned to him about this, but he tells them this is our household. I’ve been cooking since I was a kid & I love to cook. Sure, Manuel could learn to cook because everyone is capable of learning, but he doesn’t like to cook, just like I don’t like cleaning up after dinner. I have another friend who has been a stay-at-home wife/mother. She hasn’t worked at all since her wedding day. She takes care of everything & I mean everything. That’s how they run things in there home. I have to admit when I got married, I had to get use to the fact I have a partner now & no more making decision’s on my own. I do not ask for permission on anything nor does Manuel, but we simple talk about our plans & see if it’s a yes or no.

    Like

  2. Thanks Shanon for your comment. In God’s household there has to be order in the family structure. If no order then no peace. I see that order in the Bible in God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. God is full of good ideas!

    Like

  3. There also has to be communication within the family too. With no communication, a marriage can not function. Also, it’s a good idea for the couple to share the responsibilities so one person is not overwhelmed with everything. I enjoy going shopping with Manuel, doing laundry, etc., because we are a team at everything. If the kids are not in school, they shop with us too. They even help me with laundry at times.

    Like

Leave a Reply

